The Catalog To Date

Posted by

All of the mornings that started at 4 am. All of the times you shook your head as you typed away, alone, struggling to get that perfect paragraph, perfect sentence, perfect word. Through the untimely death of a dear friend. Through all of the self-doubt and gazing at the screen and wondering, “Is this worth doing?”

But there is a point to it all. Here’s the “R. J. Nello” Kindle titles listing on Amazon.com:

Screen capture of Amazon.com’s “R. J. Nello” Kindle page.

Three nearly 100,000 word novels each in 3 years has been a massive intellectual and life challenge. It began in late 2012, when I was feverishly tap, tap, tapping the first brainstorms of Passports sneakily on my laptop while sitting in front of the TV in our old house in Christchurch. (The first chapters I recall writing were the World Trade Center and subway chapters.) Because I wanted a “full book” well underway before I wanted to risk revealing to anyone what I was doing (in case nothing came of the initial writing), I told no one what I was up to for about six months.

Back then, I had not really imagined I would ever be here now. This may sound cheesy and “self-help-ish,” but it is true: if you believe in yourself and in what you are doing, keep at it, stay focused, and you can do what you set out to do. (Assuming your goal is within the realm of human possibility, of course.)

There will be more to come, I hope. However, for now, I feel a sense of “satisfaction.” I have accomplished my interim aim.

Meaning if I never write another thing for publication, I could live with those three novels being my entire “catalog.” I’m comfortable with them, and proud of them as a personal writing “legacy.” They say what I want to say, in the way I want to say it – and, of course, above all I hope they are interesting, moving, and entertaining.

Free Stock Photo: Illustration of a desk.
Free Stock Photo: Illustration of a desk.

It’s easy to criticize, and, as the saying goes, everyone’s a critic. But writing novels has given me a new respect for novelists. (Including especially my HarperCollins published uncle.) Trust me, novel-writing isn’t a breeze – something you undertake on a whim. It’s all-consuming. I’ve thought about little else since 2012.

Uh, such big authoring questions aside, there’s other work to be done related to the soon to be released third volume, and I’ve waded through that since yesterday.

Check list. Let’s see, I’ve updated my Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk author pages to reflect the Distances release date and “pre-order.” (As you see, I stuck the “pre-order” in the sidebar here – although I’m always a bit reticent about doing the likes of that. Other writers scream about their books, and – probably like you – I find that a turn off.)

I also updated Facebook (which is still new, and really just an adjunct to here so far, but that may change). I updated Goodreads (even though I’m not really active on it to date – but you never know, so…. WHAM! I updated it). I updated About.me (moving the release date to “November” from 2016). I also updated my Twitter profile (same change as About.me). And I updated my “About” page here on my main site – the center of my writing universe.

Hmm, I’m wondering if I’ve possibly overlooked anything? Authoring nowadays. All of the socially mediaing can be exhausting. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Have a good Wednesday! ๐Ÿ™‚

2 comments

Further thoughts?

