“Big Travel” Is Watching Us

Posted by

I received this email yesterday. I was taken aback. I have no idea how TripAdvisor (U.S.?) paired these two destinations for me:

From a TripAdvisor email.
From a TripAdvisor email.

Yes, I’ve been to both places. But I don’t recall ever telling them that – particularly not since my Key West visit (my first) in 2014.

Key West, Florida. [Photo by me, 2014.]
Key West, Florida. [Photo by me, 2014.]

While I apparently “joined” TripAdvisor in April 2010 (you can see too that’s what it says), as I write this I’m trying to recall the last time I had anything “conscious” to do with that site as a member. I can’t remember the last time I logged in. In fact, I can’t even remember any login details.

I’m not a nutter about these things. Yet when sites are “tailored” to you sooooo closely, and off-hand you don’t know how they’ve done it? You can feel a bit creeped out.

On that “big brother” note, have a good Friday! 🙂

Further thoughts?

