Life: The Most Difficult Exam

Posted by

A thought for a Monday:

image

It may be extra-useful to remember that if you are, as I am, battling a sense of gloom about life.

We all feel down and out of sorts occasionally for a multitude of personal reasons. We must fight through. But it’s not always easy, of course.

I’ve had a headache since Friday. (Today is Monday.) Fortunately, this one has not been nearly as bad as episodes in the past. They have thankfully diminished in recent years.

You may have noticed in the scene I included from Frontiers the other day: in the novels, I gave them to “James.” Nice of me, isn’t it? Important rule: write what you know.

They are not just throbbing or discomfort. In the end, they can become debilitating. If you suffer from the likes of them, you know what I mean.

I have never been able to pinpoint a cause. Generally, I have attributed them to “stress.” After Kam died in 2014, I recall one having come on. I felt sick for days.

When matters aren’t going well in real life, and you feel powerless, and even “alone,” when you write you have this means of escape: Your work:

Excerpt from
Excerpt from “Passports,” on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.

And if that work gives readers some smiles, food for thought, and perhaps a means of brief escape for themselves, you can at least take comfort in knowing you made a positive difference for someone.

At least that’s what I keep telling myself. I may have to take a day or two “off” from the internet – looking at screens. That might help. If there are no posts for a day or two, you know why. ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a good – and hopefully, pain free – day, wherever you are in the world.

2 comments

Further thoughts?

