We All Face Terrorism

Posted by

Miami Herald and CNN commentator Frida Ghitis tweeted on Saturday:

Screen capture of Twitter.
Screen capture of Twitter.

Tweeting her in response, I politely noted – just pointed to one example – her view being decidedly, well, not quite right:

Screen capture of Twitter
Screen capture of Twitter

Afterwards, she deleted her original tweet. (However, I had screen captured it already.) I don’t know if I was the reason she deleted it. (A class act, she retweeted me and favorited my tweet nonetheless.) Others after me may have noted similar examples to her. (I had tweeted her and gone to church. Yes, really! 🙂 )

I am a fan of Ms. Ghitis: Her writing is crisp, and her take on world events is usually reasonable and insightful. Facing a daily diet as we all do of often awful and horrific news, we can all get briefly carried away when heroism manages to win the day. I’m sure she wasn’t being EXACTLY literal in her critique.

I will say this, though. There’s no reason for us as Americans to go “triumphalist” over U.S. servicemen having apparently played the biggest part in subduing that gun-wielding, would-be mass murderer on that high-speed train en route to Paris. I’m sure if a terrorist had tried the same on a U.S. Amtrak train, and French, Belgian, British, or other traveling NATO soldiers had been sitting in the carriage, that those men would have reacted the same way under the same circumstances, and struggled to save lives too.

We are all friends and allies. We all need each other at times. There’s no reason for any of us to be jumping up and down about it whenever we might come to each other’s assistance.

Have a good Sunday, wherever you are in the world. 🙂

Further thoughts?

