“The Competition” Identified

It’s surprising to open an Amazon email and see one of your books at the top of the list among others Amazon appears to consider “similar” to it:

Screen capture of an Amazon marketing email.
Screen capture of an Amazon marketing email.

I screen grabbed as much of it as I could. Two unmistakably have “romance” in the title. I may have to “investigate” those, and others (I kept the email), to see what, err, I’m up against. πŸ˜‰

And that second book? A novel about Rhodesia? Seriously?

In Passports, by sheer coincidence on a plane pre-take off between New York and Florida, there is a brief exchange about that former British colony. It is inspired by a conversation I was once part of with an elderly American widower who had been married to a Belgian woman:

Excerpt from “Passports,” on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.

Where novelists get material from, eh?

Clearly I received that email (which came to my real name that I “xxxx”d out above) because I’ve recently clicked on my Passports Kindle page due to that five day free promo. Having also moments ago visited that page again to write this post, I just spotted something else: that email list is obviously sourced from other titles visitors – like you! πŸ™‚ – have browsed besides Passports:

Screen capture of
Screen capture of “Passports” Kindle “Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed” on Amazon.com.

Which makes sense. Naturally, prospective readers’ “click” choices contribute to Amazon’s “categories.” Amazon tracks us closely as we “meander” around the site, of course.

Notice this, too, about that above. Ahem, Passports? Quite a Kindle bargain there, relatively speaking. Tell all your friends and family! πŸ˜‰

Have a good Thursday, wherever you are in the world. πŸ™‚

Further thoughts?

