Alfred The Great Was Here (In The Vicinity Someplace)

Posted by

I’ve been up here, near the Westbury White Horse, a bunch of times. However, I’d never taken any photos of this, but finally did yesterday. So how about some English medievalism/ Anglo-Saxon romantic legend for a Wednesday morning:

[Photo by me, 2015.]
[Photo by me, 2015.]

The inscription on that plaque reads:

TO COMMEMORATE

THE BATTLE OF ETHANDUN, FOUGHT IN THIS VICINITY

MAY 878 AD

WHEN KING ALFRED THE GREAT, DEFEATED

THE VIKING ARMY, GIVING BIRTH TO

ENGLISH NATIONHOOD

UNVEILED BY THE 7TH MARQUESS OF BATH

5TH NOVEMBER 2000

It lies at the foot of this stone:

[Photo by me, 2015.]
[Photo by me, 2015.]
Not far from this view:

[Photo by me, 2015.]
[Photo by me, 2015.]
That Battle of Ethandun, known now as the Battle of Edington, has been portrayed in fiction, too. Yes, really. And it seems quite a bit:

Screen capture of Wikipedia.
Screen capture of Wikipedia.

I’d had no idea. History is indeed a rich source for fictional material. After all, the Viking King was named Guthrum?ย And he had led the “Great Heathen Army?”

That’s just too good. Novelists could knock the likes of those out of the park. So could some screenwriters,ย I’m sure. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Eh, put that sword down. And have a good Wednesday, wherever you are in the world. ๐Ÿ™‚

Further thoughts?

