Not “Adieu” Quite Yet

Posted by

Yesterday evening I hit one of my interim targets for Distances, the third novel. Every chapter in the manuscript is now, more or less, under control. The scope of the book is largely settled.

Within my outline, I write wherever my mind takes me. I “finished” the book somewhere in middle of the last third of it, when two chapters that had been only “skeletons” up to that point were filled in generally at last. Having done that, I sat stunned briefly.

French air force overflight. Bastille Day parade, Paris, July 1995. [Photo by me.]
French air force overflight. Bastille Day parade, Paris, July 1995. [Photo by me.]

My mind then took me forward to the next book. I’m unprepared mentally to say “goodbye” to these characters yet. Quickly, I stopped myself from thinking that far ahead.

Distances will be on the same scale as Passports and Frontiers. When it’s completed, it will bring the curtain down on three books that total some 1,100 pages and cover 3 years of experiences among the characters. The latter is a curious coincidence because it will have also taken me slightly more than 3 years to produce the 3 novels. (I started writing Passports sneakily, in the late summer of 2012.)

Passports (Part 1), Frontiers (Part 2), Distances (upcoming Part 3.
Passports (Part 1), Frontiers (Part 2), Distances (upcoming Part 3.

What remains are the “final touches,” which will take a month or two at least, and then my trusty proofreaders will have at it once more. I also suspect – more than ever before – Distances may raise some serious eyebrows among them. But we also have to have that, don’t we? 😉

If you chose to download Passports between July 11 and July 15 – and, even if it was free, I was still surprised and pleased when I saw the number of you who did – I hope you find it entertaining reading.

And I also hope you’re having a good Thursday, wherever you are. 🙂

Further thoughts?

