14 July 1995: [Sigh] I Can’t Be This Old

Passports is FREE on Kindle until July 15. Today being July 14 is the major reason. It’s to commemorate a personal anniversary. (Not the two decades that have passed!) Twenty years ago today, I was here:

A famous sight, in the distance (although not photographed on exactly July 14). [Photo by me, July 1995.]
A famous sight, in the distance (although not photographed on exactly July 14). Photo by me, July 1995.]

Before digital, iPhones, iPads…. and selfies (in those days *OTHER PEOPLE* took your picture!), with my 35mm camera (that used FILM you needed to have developed in a shop! Yes, really! Ancient history!), I snapped these pictures.

Now, no doing age arithmetic in your head. No fainting at how “old” you think I am. πŸ˜‰

Some of you who’ve been following a while may have seen some of these before, but I’ve also dug up several other prints. With my iPhone, I’d recently photographed those additional prints from that day and days around it:

Bastille Day parade, July 1995. There are French women in this unit of (I believe) gendarmes. [Photo by me, 1995.]
Bastille Day parade, July 1995. There are French women in this unit of (I believe) gendarmes. [Photo by me, 1995.]
Bastille Day parade, July 1995. [Photo by me.]
Bastille Day parade, July 1995. [Photo by me.]
The Bastille Day parade, July 1995. [Photo by me, 1995.]
The Bastille Day parade, July 1995. [Photo by me, 1995.]
Want to join the Foreign Legion? Fortunately, I didn't sign anything. [Photo by me, Bastille Day, July 1995.]
Want to join the Foreign Legion? Fortunately, I didn’t sign anything. [Photo by me, Bastille Day, July 1995.]

And I wrote about that day in Passports:

Excerpt from “Passports,” on the Kindle iPad app.
President Jacques Chirac. Bastille Day, 1995. [Photo by me, July 1995.]
President Jacques Chirac. Bastille Day, 1995. [Photo by me, July 1995.]

A bit of personal history there, about history that I’ve fictionalized in the novel.

Fun stuff.

Louvre Pyramid (although not photographed on exactly July 14). [Photo by me, July 1995.]
Louvre Pyramid (although not photographed on exactly July 14). [Photo by me, July 1995.]

Have a good day, wherever you are in the world. πŸ™‚

Further thoughts?

