The “Other” Glastonbury

Posted by

Yesterday, we took the nephew to Glastonbury – no, not to the music festival, which is over. (There were trucks still clearing away post-festival.) I mean to the town, which is full of history and varieties of faith. He studies Classics at Oxford, and loves this sort of thing:

Part of the remains of Glastonbury Abbey. [Photo by me, 2015.]
Part of the remains of Glastonbury Abbey. [Photo by me, 2015.]

The Abbey is amazing.

Inside the remains of Glastonbury Abbey. [Photo by me, 2015.]
Inside the remains of Glastonbury Abbey. [Photo by me, 2015.]
View of part of the town, walking down from the Tor (hill) outside it. [Photo by me, 2015.]
View of part of the town, walking down from the Tor (hill) outside it. [Photo by me, 2015.]

The town is also full of “character” – a bit like Woodstock, New York.

Today, he wants to go into Bath (again).

* * *

Pausing and briefly small-talking while overlooking a viewpoint leading down from the Tor, I heard a fellow American. She obviously had also heard me: “We’re from South Carolina,” she identified her home state to me enthusiastically. “Where are you from?”

View of the Tor, from below. [Photo by me, 2015.]
View of the Tor, from below. [Photo by me, 2015.]

“I’m from New York,” I smiled. “Have good day.”

“Y’all too,” she smiled as she walked on.

We Americans always seem to do that to each other: we meet by chance, and immediately our states of origin must be identified.

* * *

It should be available for free shortly on Amazon Kindle everywhere until July 15:

Kindle cover of “Passports.” Click the photo to go to Amazon. [Photo by me, 2015]

Have a good Saturday, wherever you are in the world. 🙂

2 comments

Further thoughts?

