Monasterboice, County Louth

Posted by

Yesterday was the first time I’d seen this, which is off a quiet side road, north of Dublin. From where you park, you’d think it’s merely an old cemetery amidst the ruins of a couple of old churches. But it’s much more:

Photo by me, 2015.
Photo by me, 2015.

Two ruined churches (perhaps built in the 14th century) stand on the site as well.

Part of one of the ruined churches, the separate high tower behind. Recent burials - one grave I saw was from 2013 - have even taken place within the ruins. [Photo by me, 2015.]
Part of one of the ruined churches, the separate high tower behind. Recent burials – one grave was from 2013 – have even taken place within the ruins. [Photo by me, 2015.]
Photo by me, 2015.
Photo by me, 2015.
One of the stone crosses: Muiredach's Cross. [Photo by me, 2015.]
One of the stone crosses. [Photo by me, 2015.]
Photo by me, 2015.
Photo by me, 2015.

Close up of the tower. [Photo by me, 2015]
Close up of the tower. [Photo by me, 2015]
View of that same church and cross standing with your back to the tower. [Photo by me, 2015]
View of that same church and cross standing with your back to the tower. [Photo by me, 2015]
Have a good Sunday, wherever you are.

Further thoughts?

