I’m On Facebook (At Long Last)

Gazillion-selling author Harlan Coben’s recent, unfortunate, “Poland problems” led me to reflect. Actually, they probably “pushed” me over the line. I’ve decided I need a Facebook page.

Free Stock Photo: Illustration of a laptop computer.
Free Stock Photo: Illustration of a laptop computer.

As you may know if you’ve popped by here regularly over the last year and a half, I write under a pen name. That’s because some of what’s in my novels is based on real-life people I know, and some of them are also Facebook friends of mine under my real name. So I had not been rushing to use Facebook for my books even under my pen name in order to minimize the chance I’ll be “unmasked” by them as an author.

But once my Harper Collins published uncle became fully aware of what I’ve been up in to writing, I’d started to have second thoughts. Most authors are now on Facebook, and – more importantly – readers seem to like it and expect it. It’s an integral part of the social media “office furniture.”

So, yes, I give in. It’s overdue. Here’s a screenshot of it during “construction”:

Screen shot of my Facebook page, pre-publication.
Screen shot of my Facebook page, pre-publication. Click on the photo to be taken there.

It’s now “live.” Naturally, I’ll be adding to it over time. As you see, I’ve put its “widget” in the sidebar and plan to use it to support my main site here.

I suppose if Harlan Coben is on Facebook, eh, perhaps I should be, too. πŸ˜‰

If you want, come by Facebook, say “Hi” and “like” my page.

Wow? Would you “like” my Facebook page? Yes, I just really wrote that. A new era has obviously dawned. πŸ™‚

Have a good Sunday, wherever you are in the world.

Further thoughts?

