Stonehenge

Posted by

Although it’s only 45 minutes away from where we live now in Wiltshire, and had been about an hour from where we’d lived previously in Dorset for a decade, we had never been to Stonehenge.

Saturday night, on impulse, we thought, “Well, why not on Sunday?”

Rule 1: Try to get there as early as you can. It opens at 9:30. The web site encourages pre-booking, which we did. Early arrivals have no trouble parking (finding parking can be exciting in Britain) and the magnificent attraction is pleasantly “serene.”

That doesn’t last long. By the time we left about 1 PM, the car park was much fuller. At least two dozen coachloads of visitors had appeared as well.

Welcome to Stonehenge. [Photo by me, 2015.]
Welcome to Stonehenge. [Photo by me, 2015.]

The famous stone circle. [Photo by me, 2015.]
The famous stone circle. [Photo by me, 2015.]
Screen capture of the iPhone app, free to download. It leads you through the self-tour.
Screen capture of the iPhone app, free to download. It leads you through the self-tour.
It was a bit breezy. [Photo by me, of me, 2015.]
It was a bit breezy. [Photo by me, of me, 2015.]
About as close as you can get. You can't meander around inside it. [Photo by me, 2015.]
About as close as you can get. You can’t meander around inside it. [Photo by me, 2015.]
Worrying: Is that stone about to topple over? [Photo by me, of me, 2015.]
Worrying: Is that stone about to topple over? [Photo by me, of me, 2015.]
The A303 runs right next to the famous stone circle. The people of 2,500 BC were very thoughtful to place it so conveniently by the roadside. [Photo by me, 2015.]
The A303 runs right next to the famous stone circle. The people of 2,500 BC were very thoughtful to place it so conveniently by the roadside. [Photo by me, 2015.]

There is much more to it than the circle, but I won’t even try to begin to explain it, or the long history behind it all. Frankly, I couldn’t anyway. English Heritage runs it, and has a great web site full of information.

I had never thought I’d ever get there. It was never on my “must see” radar. Glad I finally did.

A photo I did NOT take of myself - and it shows: it's much better than a selfie!
A photo I did NOT take of myself – and it shows: it’s much better than a selfie!

Isn’t that how it is, though? Places on one’s doorstep often get overlooked. Meanwhile, other people from every corner of the globe are crowding around to see what you never get around to traveling 30 miles to see?

Have a good Monday, wherever you are. ๐Ÿ™‚

Further thoughts?

