“It is America. Everyone goes to university!”

Posted by

The first two novels laid the groundwork. As they are an ongoing tale (although could be read as stand alone books) with most of the same characters, writing them I’m naturally with them for years – literally – watching them change. And I’ve said before that, given their ages, that some of them even feel at times sorta like adult kids of my own.

Who’s my favorite? I’m not saying: What “parent” would ever answer that? They are by now so distinctive in my mind I think of each of them are pretty remarkable (in both good and not so good ways), and I can’t honestly say any one of them is “my favorite.”

Free Stock Photo: Illustration of a classroom with a teacher.
Free Stock Photo: Illustration of a classroom with a teacher.

In Distances, “BΓ©atrice” will finally visit the United States. She won’t be going to New York or other tourist spots, though, only to New England. She’ll see one part of New England in particular:

A sneak peek into "Distances." Click to enlarge.
A sneak peek into “Distances.” Click to enlarge.

And it is clear the trip makes quite an impression on her.

And it’s also clear that writing always requires the keenest of eyes. Just before posting, I noticed I’d forgotten a “period” in the last paragraph there. I’ve now corrected that in the manuscript, of course. [UPDATE: I’ve now corrected it in that “sneak peek” too. I hate errors like that. πŸ˜‰ ]

Hope your having a good Wednesday, wherever you are. πŸ™‚

Further thoughts?

