Our Old School Chums

Today, this blog is in “Hala mania” hangover mode. If you missed the party, it was not something that happens here very often. Thanks to my interviewing Lebanese journalist Hala Feghaly on Monday, through yesterday I’d been inundated with new visitors, mostly from Lebanon.

Yes, yes, yes, I know they came by for her, so I presume most won’t be back longer-term. Although, you never know; one can but hope a few stick around. In any event, let’s return here today to what passes for “normal.”

Dawn breaking over our back garden in Wiltshire. [Photo by me, about 5:30 am this morning.]
Dawn breaking over our back garden in Wiltshire. [Photo by me, about 5:30 am this morning.]

As you may know, “James” has much of me in him – both good and, uh, less than good. (Bad?) How odd it can feel at times fictionalizing aspects of a younger self over three novels. I may indeed need to talk to someone eventually. πŸ˜‰

In addition, “Mark” is inspired by several of my close friends growing up and on into my twenties. Having combined and fictionalized them into him, looking back I wish I had known ONE guy who had had all of the “pal” characteristics he has.

Here, they are chatting in “Mark’s” apartment on Long Island. I wrote this – and a bit more – from a blank page yesterday. However, I stopped where I did here with this “sneak peek” below because the scene began to venture into story territory I don’t want anyone to see until Distances is published:

A sneak peek into
A sneak peek into “Distances.” Click to enlarge.

All told that full scene and bits of others totaled over 5 good pages. Yes, what you can do in a single writing day if you put your mind to it. I write with a daily goal of about 3-5 pages, and, generally, I achieve that.

I’m rarely fully happy with a day’s work, though. Naturally, there are revisions later – sometimes substantial cleaning up. Yet I always keep in mind this simple rule: one hundred or so decent days of writing leads to a complete book.

Free Stock Photo: Side view of a yellow sports car.
Free Stock Photo: Side view of a yellow sports car.

Oh, and much like “James” in that scene, I have never been exactly wild about spending money on cars either. πŸ˜‰

Have a good Wednesday, wherever you may be. πŸ™‚

Further thoughts?

