Social Media “Lurkers”

Posted by

Regarding About.me. You may know it. If you don’t, the best way I can think to describe it is it’s, I suppose, a bit of a “flashier,” more “artistic,” and informal version of LinkedIn. (I don’t use LinkedIn.)

I have noticed a recent trend on About.me. Unless someone has chosen to browse anonymously, you can see who views you. I’m finding my page is being viewed over and over by quite a few people who never interact with me whatsoever.

I mean never. Perhaps they drop by here; but I never know if they do because they never “like” posts or comment. Maybe they read my Twitter feed; but similarly I never know because they don’t “follow” me or even tweet “@” me now and then.

I wonder why?

When it comes to such repeat viewers, I’m almost tempted to write to one of them (although I never would) and ask: “What do you expect to see that you didn’t see the first, or maybe second, time?”

It can’t be because, for men, I’m an attractive woman? And I won’t even wonder about women’s possible motivations?

About.me log in page screen capture.
About.me log in page screen capture.

If you discover someone you find interesting, About.me has a “compliment” facility to “introduce” yourself. And maybe that person responds similarly. But even if he/she doesn’t, perhaps subsequently you revisit their page as a “bookmark” to enable you to stay up to date with their blog, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, etc. Having at least “introduced” yourself, going back to their About.me page to see if anything is new makes reasonable sense: you’d already announced yourself as something of “a fan.”

But if you view someone and after a read don’t really want to follow or interact with them, would YOU keep going back to their page repeatedly? If so, why? Especially why would you do it if you also know that the one you’re viewing again and again can see you doing it?

What’s that, uh, “about”? (Sorry, I couldn’t resist.)

Seriously, isn’t doing that a little odd and even kinda – for lack of a better word – “creepy”?

Just thinking out loud. Anyway, time to get back to work. Hope you’re having a good Thursday. 🙂

Further thoughts?

