Post-Flight Reflections

Posted by

Our British Airways flight from Boston to Heathrow on Friday evening was full. According to the Captain, there wasn’t an empty seat on the plane – and it was a 747-400. So Going Global’s piece on U.S. domestic air travel numbers being higher than in years might well be said to apply to transatlantic flights too:

Screen capture of Going Global, April 11, 2015.
Screen capture of Going Global, April 11, 2015.

As I think about it, I haven’t been on a transatlantic flight in several years that wasn’t packed. Empty seats on planes seem a thing of the past. Not only is demand up now, but airlines have cut flights: fewer overall seats also means even fewer empty seats too of course.

* * *

I travel with the following in my carry on: iPhone (social media, texting, and photographs mostly, with actual phone calls being a possibility occasionally); iPad (more apps than the phone, and to be with all of you via social media); Surface Pro 3 (contains the current manuscript); Kindle (other people’s books; I do have the iPhone/ iPad Kindle app, but prefer reading on the original Kindle); a second, old, non-Apple mobile phone (it uses a U.S. SIM card); and more wires and plugs than I could count, including converter plugs (can’t forget those).

I remember a time I flew with one or two paperback books.

* * *

I often sleep on board wearing a head set and British Airways “well being” music playing. It pushes aside any internal cabin noise and calms the mind somewhat. I always try to sleep several hours.

Most everyone hates jet lag: hours thrown off your norm, it can take a couple of days to get with everyone else in your time zone once you arrive. I’m writing this at about 7:30 am U.K. time – which is 2:30 am New York time. I slept a bit on the plane and then took a nap Saturday afternoon after getting back to Britain. I also managed to sleep straight through the night last night, and woke up just before 7 am not feeling like it’s the middle of the night.

We’ll see how today goes, and when I want to collapse.

I tend to get a headache too after a long haul flight. I’ve tried prevention by drinking water during and after the flight, but that never entirely stops it. However, I’ve always been susceptible to horrible headaches even in ordinary day to day living, and sometimes they are so debilitating I can barely function.

I’ve done okay post-this journey. No whopper of a headache. And I even had a couple of drinks pre-flight and in-flight. πŸ˜‰

* * *

Getting back into the post-holiday routine is something most of us dislike. I’ve always found the best solution to any downer associated with returning home to the mundane is immediately to start planning the next getaway. Nothing picks one up better than focusing on the next time.

Free Stock Photo: People heading to an airport gate
Free Stock Photo: People heading to an airport gate

The next one may not even be a flight, though. It may be a drive through Wales in the early summer. That’s only between about 3-5 hours behind the wheel from where we live, which is practically down the street compared to driving from upstate New York, to Pennsylvania, and then doing 14 hours to Florida…. and back. πŸ˜‰

Well, that’s that for now. No more excuses. Back to work on Distances:

Draft cover. A bit different than the first two books. Just me having an "artistic" moment. [Photo by me, 1996.]
Draft cover. A bit different than the first two books. Just me having an “artistic” moment. [Photo by me, 1996.]

I did scribble down some ideas while away. I even wrote a little in Florida when no one was looking. When you write, you are never entirely on holiday ever.

Hope you’re having a good weekend. πŸ™‚

Further thoughts?

