Novelists And The Calendar: Rarely A Good Combination

Posted by

Being in the Catskills for a few days also means the house needs attention. I had some painting to do. Today, my “anti-critter” cage also needs mending after having been buried under snow and coming off the house.

Other bits and pieces needed doing as well. We’ve also had lots of early spring “visitors” the last few days. We call them “time wasters,” because when you see them you get caught up watching them and time just slips by:

Across the driveway. Catskills. [Photo by me, 2015.]
Across the driveway. Catskills. [Photo by me, 2015.]

On the front lawn, next to the well cap. [Photo by me, 2015.]
On the front lawn, next to the well cap. [Photo by me, 2015.]

And speaking of another inability to keep time straight, my HarperCollins published crime novelist uncle did what many a writer is known for: scheduling chaos. He forgot we were coming to him in Rhode Island today (he thought it was next week, he said), or he forgot he’d made a commitment to his daughter-in-law and grandson, who are coming to stay with him so his grandson can visit a prospective college on Friday. (He wasn’t sure who he’d agreed to have stay over first.) He double booked.

I told him (over the phone, of course) his grandson’s college visit comes first naturally. He was absolutely furious with himself, telling me that he thinks he’s “finally losing it” and that he feels he’d better start writing things down. He wanted to talk about my books, he added, but also said he hasn’t had time to read them in full (which I knew) yet at least now may get a chance to before we meet up again in person.

Free Stock Photo: Illustration of a calendar
Free Stock Photo: Illustration of a calendar

I promised him we’d see him when we come next time. In turn, he promised he would write down the day for sure.

We did have a pleasant phone chat (during which he said he has enjoyed what he’s read of my books, although it’s not his sort of writing – which I also knew, of course) and I realized as we talked that I should really speak to him by phone (he doesn’t FaceTime or Skype) more from the U.K.

Have a good Thursday, wherever you are in the world. 🙂

2 comments

  1. Ah, New York country living. Living outside Woodstock (where my son was born) we had black bears stuck in trees, grass snakes chasing squirrels through the fallen leaves, a rattlesnake nest over the other side road, wood to chop for the stove, but not much writing done. Oh, and the deer? Got to eat lots 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You know, Woodstock. Now, there’s a town. I’m always convinced half the people there think it’s always “1969.” 🙂

      We’ve seen a couple of bears stroll by over the years. We don’t get many by us. At least, if we do, we’ve not seen many. 😉

      Like

Further thoughts?

