A “Fan Email” Brightens A Gray Morning

Posted by

The Catskills in early April: it’s certainly not Florida. I just took a few snaps out the back just after dawn. Yep, there’s still lots of snow against the house and scattered here and there in the woods:

Still some snow out in the trees. Catskills. [Photo by me, 2015.]
Still some snow out in the trees. Catskills. [Photo by me, 2015.]

Still some snow piled around. Catskills. [Photo by me, 2015.]
Still some snow piled around. Catskills. [Photo by me, 2015.]
Still some snow piled around. Catskills. [Photo by me, 2015.]
Still some snow piled around. Catskills. [Photo by me, 2015.]
Back for a brief stay at the “scene” of the “crime”: where I wrote most of the first two novels in 2013 and 2014. We’ll be visiting my uncle later in the week. As you may know, I kept my books a secret from him – he’s a HarperCollins published crime novelist – until very recently, which should make for an “interesting” night of discussion at his place in Rhode Island.

Every writer has his/her foibles. Mine includes avoiding reading reviews of my books. I don’t scour the net for pro or con reactions to them either. I suppose I don’t want to find myself overly influenced going forward by what readers say about them, whether good or bad. Every reader takes in your work based on his/her unique vantage point in life. While everyone’s opinion has a validity to it, as a novelist it’s simply impossible in going forward to take on board what everyone says.

That said, I wrote yesterday about being trolled and facing social media abuse. So it is indeed pleasant to get some unexpected praise dropped into your lap. I ask your indulgence with a couple of excerpts from a “fan email”:

….Frontiers is brilliantly written – so engaging – it must surely be ranked highly, and should be in the History Department of every University….

….it should be a trilogy – even a film….

Clearly she doesn’t read my web site here: if she did, she would know the third book is well underway, of course. 😉

I also know that, yes, it’s supposedly crass to talk about my books on here. That being so, I thought I’d let that someone else say something positive for a moment instead. I promise promise promise not to make an irritating habit out of it. 🙂

Have a good day! Here it’s supposed to rain, which should take care of some of the remaining snow. Ah, our gray, “between seasons,” upstate New York in early April.

Further thoughts?

