When Social Media Turns Ugly

Posted by

If you are reading this, you may be on social media yourself too – with a blog, a Twitter account, Instagram, etc. Recently, some “guy” I’d never encountered before evidently took umbrage with my voicing my opinion on too many U.S. study abroad students’ immature behaviors. Regular visitors here also know I attribute those primarily to overzealous parenting coupled with inexperience with legal alcohol; but apparently “he” thought attacking me on Twitter personally would get a reaction.

Free Stock Photo: Bright colored computer mice.
Free Stock Photo: Bright colored computer mice.

I yawned: I’ve seen much worse. When you put yourself out there publicly in even the smallest way, you have to expect criticisms and even degrees of nastiness. We all know it comes with the territory.

You never “win” when engaging with a “troll.” You may even alienate friends and followers who witness it: they know who you are, of course, and you don’t need to “prove” your bona fides to them. I don’t get many like that one, but if I do I feel the best “response” is ignore it. (I don’t usually “block” unless the individual won’t go away, attempts to draw in others, or uses foul language.)

I’ve never been threatened. But threats seem to be less of a problem for men. As we know, women on Twitter sometimes get assailed far more viciously than with mere playground-level insults.

Free Stock Photo: A beautiful girl lying on the floor with a laptop isolated on a white background.
Free Stock Photo: A beautiful girl lying on the floor with a laptop isolated on a white background.

Social media is often a force for good – for instance, it brought us here together ๐Ÿ˜‰ . But it is unfortunately also decidedly “unsocial” at times. Whenever I see someone hurling abuse on Twitter especially at women, I often wonder how that abuser would feel if he/she witnessed someone attacking their daughter in that manner?

Have a good Monday, wherever you are in the world. ๐Ÿ™‚

One comment

Further thoughts?

