Sneak Peek: Marathon Man

Posted by

I am dreading this “writing streak” drying up. I had another “productive” day yesterday, when I finished a draft chapter. It features “James,” “Isabelle” and “Bรฉatrice” in something of a light-hearted situation.

It also includes an unexpected reference to “Uncle Bill.” After all, when you are connected personally to someone “famous,” well, you never know who else out there might also “know” that “celebrity.” Nor do you ever really know where you might encounter a fan.

It’s still “rough” in spots, and I’m not 100 percent happy with it, but I thought I’d share this part of it here:

A sneak peek into "Distances." Click to enlarge.
A sneak peek into “Distances.” Click to enlarge.

There’s a tale behind that scene, as in much else in the novels. Years ago in Paris, I bumped into a “40-ish” American doctor who’d been working at a medical research facility. (He understood almost no French, but that didn’t matter for work because the multinational staff functioned primarily in English.) He was there for a couple of years and loved it.

Free Stock Photo: Illustration of a man running.
Free Stock Photo: Illustration of a man running.

He was in some ways a stereotypical American professional in Paris – everything “wowed” him. I recall him also being quite a nice guy. While prepping this third book, I thought he was worth fictionalizing pleasantly into the story.

Have a good Thursday, wherever you are in the world. ๐Ÿ˜‰

2 comments

  1. Enjoy the solar eclipse tomorrow, RJ. I imagine it’ll be quite a boost for your writing output, long may it continue.

    Interesting to note how Americans are when they meet each other in foreign climes, be it Paris or Kathmandu (Said with affection) Your writing adds a lot of colour. I get impression colour around you is somehow very important?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When Americans meet unexpectedly abroad, the encounter may resemble a wildlife documentary. It’s often a bit like, “Bob from New York isn’t sure about Amanda from Washington State….” ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I’ve sensed we tend to eye each other up quickly and try to ascertain if our opposite number is a decent person or a traveling nitwit. (Non-Americans usually lack the antennae to make that immediate distinction.) If we sense “nitwit,” we do our best to mitigate it in front of non-Americans we know who may be present. And we’ll also probably look to get away as quick as we can. “Well, nice to meet you. I hear Seattle’s a great place. I may go there someday. Gotta run! All the best! Goodbye!”

      I love the colour around me. I’m surrounded by it! ๐Ÿ™‚

      9:12 am UK time is the height of the eclipse. It’s supposed to be cloudy hereabouts, though. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Like

Further thoughts?

