“Don’t look into their eyes! You’ll be turned into stone!”

I don’t like to talk U.S. party politics here, really (as you know, it’s about writing and expats, etc.); but this is interesting in terms of media. And it this isn’t just an Americans’ issue. It’s also an international one given how U.S. domestic politics can resonate around the world:

image

I don’t watch Fox News with any regularity. The article also addresses Fox’s left-wing opposite number: MSNBC. MSNBC is not available here in Britain, but, similarly, I wouldn’t watch it much either even if it were.

I find both Fox News Channel and MSNBC to be essentially unwatchable yell and snark fests. However, back in the States, my mother must be one of the few who revels in both channels. “I like to hear what both sides are screaming about,” she laughs.

There’s a program on Fox I’ve seen a few times called “The Five.” My Mom likes that one for amusement; but to me, frankly, the less said about it the better. One minute chattering hosts hold forth on ISIS (“The Middle East is so complicated, and Obama won’t do anything!”), or global economics, and after a commercial break on some celebrity’s award show outfit.

My Mom often has MSNBC on as background noise in the kitchen. In my mind, it’s mostly a blur of predictably left of center opinions. A few times, however, I’ve also overheard anchors/ presenters getting so carried away I expected hammer and sickle flags to be unfurled on set at any moment.

From U.S.-based TV news channel offerings – and I know I’m a minority, and I know it has its own issues – I still much prefer CNN. Here in Britain, we see CNN International. Above all, it has Hala Gorani:

image

Choose your viewing carefully. Alsoย create a list of varied web sites from at home, and from around the world. Spending “quality time” on news is far more worthwhile than sitting through Fox and MSNBC doing their TV impersonations of “talk” radio.

And life’s too short.

Have a good day, wherever you are in the world. ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on ““Don’t look into their eyes! You’ll be turned into stone!”

  1. casblomberg January 7, 2015 / 12:00 pm

    After working for a newspaper and realizing how much control any political party holds over almost every news organization in the world, I quit watching the news. We don’t even watch TV at all anymore. Glad you found a station that works for you :).

    Like

    • R. J. Nello January 7, 2015 / 1:31 pm

      That post was a bit of the former political science instructor slipping out of me. I pay scant attention to party politics here, because I’ve long grown tired of it. I think many other people have too, and I’m sure most visitors here come here not expecting to see it, and enjoy a respite from it.

      Specifically, though, the silliness on what now passes for “24 hour news” on U.S. television is actually not funny at all. Nor is how party political it is becoming. One wonders how damaging it really is to us as voters and to our civil discourse and our ability to address societal problems.

      Oops, some political scientist-speak there again in that last sentence. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. casblomberg January 7, 2015 / 2:13 pm

    Good thing you have a new career now. Can imagine the uphill battle of teaching anyone about politics these days.

    Liked by 1 person

    • R. J. Nello January 7, 2015 / 2:26 pm

      I’m done with that world. Looking back on it, now it’s like I was someone else. Oddest of feelings. I still have many fond memories of it, though.

      Liked by 1 person

Further thoughts?

