Presidential Stamps

Posted by

Going through those old family photos on Sunday, we also found a large envelope. It had been sent in the 1920s to London by ancestors of my wife who were living in California. I noticed the stamps – and the prices:

1920s U.S. stamps. [Photo by me, 2014.]
1920s U.S. stamps. [Photo by me, 2014.]
“Whoa,” I said to my wife. “Andrew Jackson and John Tyler stamps? 17 cents to mail that big envelope from the U.S. That was a lot of money in those days.”

“Tyler?” she asked.

“John Tyler,” I repeated. “He was a president in the early 1840s. He followed William Henry Harrison, who’d followed Martin van Buren.”

Tyler she didn’t recall. But she knows van Buren.

Our family happens to be Martin fans. ๐Ÿ™‚

******SPOILER ALERT******

******If you have not seen Charade with Cary Grant and Audrey Hepburn STOP reading here.******

“Think they’re worth anything?” she asked me.

I shook my head. Somehow, I suspect they aren’t likely worth a fortune. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Further thoughts?

