Five Centuries In Eight Photographs

Posted by

Yesterday, we visited the Castillo de San Marcos at St. Augustine. For centuries, the fort was central in the town’s existence. Although it has changed hands by treaty several times, no attacker has ever taken it in battle.

That in mind, here is a history of that fort, and St. Augustine…. as, uh, illustrated and outlined, in chronological order, by some photographs:

1. In 1513, Spaniard Juan Ponce de Leon wanders through seeking the Fountain of Youth. He never finds it. [Photo by me, 2014]
1. In 1513, Spaniard Juan Ponce de Leon wanders through seeking the Fountain of Youth. He never finds it. [Photo by me, 2014]
2. The site now marked by a cross, other Spaniards land in 1565. A first Mass is said. [Photo by me, 2014
2. The site now marked by a cross, other Spaniards land in 1565. A first Mass is said. [Photo by me, 2014.]
3. After several wooden forts fail to do the job they want, the Spaniards get serious and decide to build a masonry one. [Photo by me, 2014.]
3. After several wooden forts fail to do the job they want, the Spaniards get serious and decide to build a masonry one. [Photo by me, 2014.]
4. Front of the Castillo de San Marcos. [Photo by me, 2014.]
4. Front of the Castillo de San Marcos. [Photo by me, 2014.]
5. Imperial Spain's flag proudly flew over the town and fort for centuries. [Photo by me, 2014.]
5. Imperial Spain’s flag proudly flew over the fort. [Photo by me, 2014.]
6. Unfortunately, Spain's flag also looked too much like England's Cross of St. George from a distance. Which made fighting naval battles a bit confusing. So in the 18th century, the Spanish changed their flag. [Photo by me, 2014.]
6. Unfortunately, Spain’s flag looked too much like England’s Cross of St. George from a distance. Which made fighting naval battles difficult. So in the 18th century, the Spanish changed theirs. [Photo by me, 2014.]
7. Great Britain took over Florida in 1763. But they had to give it back to Spain in 1783. [Photo by me, 2014.]
7. Great Britain took over Florida in 1763. But they had to give it back to Spain in 1783. [Photo by me, 2014.]
8. Finally, the Americans.... [Photo by me, 2014.]
8. Finally, the Americans…. [Photo by me, 2014.]

A bit of a history lesson. In pictures. But don’t worry, there’s no quiz to follow. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Further thoughts?

