“As a reader, which do you prefer?”

I had a light bulb go on over my head first thing this morning. And, no, it wasn’t because I’d turned a lamp on that happened to be behind me. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Rather, an idea hit me about the in-progress sequel: Should it be two volumes?

Passports is nearly 400 pages and a complete novel. Unexpectedly, while I had been sitting at my desk doing some writing, and also thinking on the title for the sequel (and I think I’ve got one at last!), it dawned on me that having had that full 400 pages as a series opener allows me the flexibility to do what I want afterwards. I don’t need to do the same format yet again…. exactly the same way.

Meaning another “400 page” effort all at once is hardly required. Currently, I have around half of the sequel finished. But I am months away from completing it, and it might not appear before early 2015.

That strikes me as just too far away. However, I could instead release the first half of it during the summer. I have much more written of the first half than of the second, which makes this even more appealing an idea. If I concentrated from here on only on that first half, finishing that within weeks is not out of the question.

As a reader, which do you prefer? A longer, single novel? Or do you like installments that appear at shorter intervals? Which approach appeals to you more as you follow an ongoing tale?

image

The halves put together would still add up to around another 400 pages. And they would have to be read as a continuous story, one after the other. In the future, after the second half were out for a while, I might re-package them as a single volume.

Hmm. Having the next 200 pages of the story out by August/ September? And another 200 pages out early next year? I like that idea. ๐Ÿ™‚

Hope you’re having a good Tuesday!

2 thoughts on ““As a reader, which do you prefer?”

  1. reasoninthedark June 3, 2014 / 8:26 am

    I am unsure as to what you mean by “page” ๐Ÿ˜› A4 or more book size? Word counts would be more helpful here I think. 200 A4s is plenty for a book. I think you just have to hit a kind of a sweet spot. Not too long and not too short,I think my personal preference would be on the longer side.

    Like

    • R. J. Nello June 3, 2014 / 8:51 am

      It’s 5×8 paperback size. The first book is around 100,000 words. So far, I’ve got about 50,000 words finished of the sequel.

      However those 50,000 are “top heavy” towards the first half of it. That’s what got me thinking that since I plan to keep the books comparable in length, simply cutting the sequel into halves would mean about 50,000 total words, and about 200 pages, for each released half.

      Thanks for your thoughts.

      Like

Further thoughts?

