Literary Likes And Dislikes

Posted by

Thinking again on South African novelist Alan Paton’s having noted how he had disliked a major character in one of his novels (technically, “himself“), I wondered about my own. Which of my characters do I like the most? And which the least?

Sorry, uh, I will not answer that outright. 🙂

But I will admit I did find myself drawn to some more than to others. No shock there, I guess. After all, as with anyone we meet in real life, there are invariably people we all simply gravitate to more than others.

It is amusing to consider your literary creations’ “likability.” Those populating a novel are entirely in your control. Your characters’ “lives” are yours – you make them as likable or dislikable as you wish to anyway.

Further thoughts?

